COPING WITH TRAGEDY


A family crying at a burial of there loved one

Tragedy brings grief to all affected

When Tragedy strikes

You dont expect bad things to happen but they do. It could come in various ways. The death of a loved one, natural disaster, strong disappointment sickness and lots more. But the effects are always the same: isolation depression, sadness, stress, blames, grief and strong emotional breakdown. What can you do to cope?

• Try to focus on what you still have rather than on what you lost. The Bible says: “Even when a person has an abundance, his life does not result from the things he possesses.” (Luke 12:15) Kei recalls his situation: “At first,” he says, “I made a list of what I wanted, but this just reminded me of everything that had washed away. I decided to include on my list only the things that I really needed, and I updated it as my needs were cared for. That list helped me to reestablish my life.”
• Rather than become self-absorbed, use your experience to comfort others. “I received a lot of help from both public relief work and personal assistance, but as I grew accustomed to receiving, I began to lose my self-respect,” Kei says. “Then, I called to mind the Bible’s statement at Acts 20:35 that ‘there is more happiness in giving than there is in receiving.’ Since I was limited in what I could give materially, I set out to give words of encouragement to other victims of this disaster. Showing generosity in this way was a big help to me.”
• Pray to God for practical wisdom to deal with your circumstances. Kei trusted the Bible’s assurance that God will “pay attention to the prayer of the destitute.” (Psalm 102:17) You can do the same.
Did you know? The Bible foretells a time when no one will need to worry about loss as a result of a natural disaster.—Isaiah 65:21-23. Is the bible right? If so, when will that be? If you want an article to discourse leave a comment and tell us what you think

Leave a Reply

